What happens if I erase my lost iPhone?
When you erase your device, all of your information (including credit, debit, or prepaid cards for Apple Pay) is deleted from the device, and you won’t be able to find it using the Find My app or Find iPhone on iCloud.com. After you erase a device, you can’t track it.
What happens if I erase all content and settings?
Performing a Factory Reset WILL PERMANENTLY DELETE ALL of your data & customized settings, and will also remove any installed Applications. Performing a Factory Reset WILL NOT remove the data & files that are stored on the microSD card in your device.
Can I use my iPhone after I erase it?
If you remove a missing device from your account after you erase it, Activation Lock will be turned off. This allows another person to turn on and use your device.
Does resetting an iPhone erase it?
Resetting your iPhone basically erases all of your personal information from the phone. The factory settings will, however, be retained. It’s a straightforward and no iPhone reset code is required.
Can I erase my iPhone if it is offline?
If your device is offline, the remote erase begins the next time it’s online. If you erase then find your iOS device, you can restore the information on the device using iCloud Backup (if backup was turned on before you erased it) or iTunes.
Does erasing iPhone delete pictures?
When you erase the content and settings on your device, everything is removed and reset – including songs, videos, contacts, photos, calendar information, and anything else – but stays stored securely in iCloud. All of your device settings are restored to their factory condition.
How do I completely wipe my iPhone?
Remove your personal information from your old device
- If you paired an Apple Watch with your iPhone, unpair your Apple Watch.
- Back up your device.
- Sign out of iCloud and the iTunes & App Store. …
- Go back to Settings and tap General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings.
Is erase all content and settings the same as factory reset?
Reset all Settings removes things like your Wifi password and settings you’ve set on your iPad for Apps, mail, etc. Erase All Content and Settings restores a device to it’s out of the box state when it was first turned on. You should use Erase All Content and Settings to get it ready for the next owner.
Does erasing iPhone delete iCloud?
3 Answers. No, factory resetting your iPhone will not alter your iCloud. Upon setting up your iPhone again you will be given the option to reconnect to your iCloud account if you desire. iCloud also stores iPhone backups that you can restore your phone from.
Does removing device from iCloud erase it?
Activation Lock is designed to keep your device and your information safe in case your iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, Apple Watch, or Mac is ever lost or stolen. If you erase your device without signing out of iCloud first, it might still be protected by Activation Lock.
How do I clear my iPhone to sell it?
Share All sharing options for: How to wipe your iPhone before selling or trading it in
- Open up Settings.
- Scroll down and tap “General”
- Scroll down and select “Reset”
- Tap “Erase All Content and Settings”
What do you lose when you reset your iPhone?
Reset after iCloud or iTunes backup
When you Erase All Content and Settings, it completely resets your device. All information including apps, photos, videos, contacts, messages, calendar, or music etc. are lost. In order to restore your iPhone after factory reset, first take the backup of data in iCloud or iTunes.