What happens when you erase iphone

What happens when you erase a lost iPhone?

When you erase your device, all of your information (including credit, debit, or prepaid cards for Apple Pay) is deleted from the device, and you won’t be able to find it using the Find My app or Find iPhone on iCloud.com. After you erase a device, you can’t track it.

What happens when you erase all content and settings?

Performing a Factory Reset WILL PERMANENTLY DELETE ALL of your data & customized settings, and will also remove any installed Applications. Performing a Factory Reset WILL NOT remove the data & files that are stored on the microSD card in your device.

What happens when you reset your iPhone?

Once you have reset your iPhone, any apps you’ve installed, as well as your contacts, appointments, notes, and any other personal data, will disappear. … If you were performing the reset so that you could then sell your iPhone, you can be certain that not a single bit of your personal information is stored in your phone.

Are Stolen iPhones useless?

What that means is even when a thief or a third-party has your ‌iPhone‌, it’s still tied to your ‌Apple ID‌ and can’t be used with any other account. Your ‌iPhone‌ can even be wiped completely and it will still be locked down, making it almost useless to anyone but you.

Does erase iPhone delete everything?

When you tap Erase All Content and Settings, it completely erases your device, including any credit or debit cards you added for Apple Pay and any photos, contacts, music, or apps. It will also turn off iCloud, iMessage, FaceTime, Game Center, and other services.

You might be interested:  What is a restriction code on iphone

What do you lose when you reset your iPhone?

Reset after iCloud or iTunes backup

When you Erase All Content and Settings, it completely resets your device. All information including apps, photos, videos, contacts, messages, calendar, or music etc. are lost. In order to restore your iPhone after factory reset, first take the backup of data in iCloud or iTunes.

Is erase all content and settings the same as factory reset?

Reset all Settings removes things like your Wifi password and settings you’ve set on your iPad for Apps, mail, etc. Erase All Content and Settings restores a device to it’s out of the box state when it was first turned on. You should use Erase All Content and Settings to get it ready for the next owner.

Is it good to reset your phone?

You shouldn’t have to factory reset your phone, but it’ll do the best job at making your phone feel new again. Before getting started, make sure your photos and videos are backed up with a cloud service.

What does a hard reset do?

A hard reset, also known as a factory reset or master reset, is the restoration of a device to the state it was in when it left the factory. All settings, applications and data added by the user are removed.

Will I lose anything if I restart my iPhone?

An ordinary reboot of your phone — which Apple calls a restart — does not cause you to lose data, except for any unsaved files you have open in apps without autosave. To restart the phone, press and hold the “Sleep/Wake” button until a red slider appears on the screen.

You might be interested:  Lost iphone what to do

Can I unlock an iPhone I found?

Activation Lock (described below) requres the original owner to unlock the iPhone or it will remain useless to you. If you really “found” the iPhone, return it to the original owner or the authirities. try holding the home and power buttons at the same time for about a minute!

Can Apple kill a stolen iPhone?

The Apple kill switch or activation lock was a feature added to iOS 7 which lets users remotely lock and wipe their iPhones in the event that their phones are stolen or lost.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *