What is erase all content and settings on iphone

What does it mean when you erase all content and settings?

Performing a Factory Reset WILL PERMANENTLY DELETE ALL of your data & customized settings, and will also remove any installed Applications. Performing a Factory Reset WILL NOT remove the data & files that are stored on the microSD card in your device.

What is the difference between reset all settings and erase all content and settings?

Reset all Settings removes things like your Wifi password and settings you’ve set on your iPad for Apps, mail, etc. Erase All Content and Settings restores a device to it’s out of the box state when it was first turned on. You should use Erase All Content and Settings to get it ready for the next owner.

Does erase all content and settings remove iCloud?

[5] iCloud.

As it turns out, erasing your iPhone only partially removes it from your iCloud account. Using your Mac, go to OS X’s Apple menu, choose System Preferences, then choose iCloud and click Account Details.

Does erasing your iPhone delete everything?

When you tap Erase All Content and Settings, it completely erases your device, including any credit or debit cards you added for Apple Pay and any photos, contacts, music, or apps. It will also turn off iCloud, iMessage, FaceTime, Game Center, and other services.

Will erasing iPhone delete iCloud?

3 Answers. No, factory resetting your iPhone will not alter your iCloud. Upon setting up your iPhone again you will be given the option to reconnect to your iCloud account if you desire. iCloud also stores iPhone backups that you can restore your phone from.

You might be interested:  What was the first iphone called

What do you lose when you reset your iPhone?

Reset after iCloud or iTunes backup

When you Erase All Content and Settings, it completely resets your device. All information including apps, photos, videos, contacts, messages, calendar, or music etc. are lost. In order to restore your iPhone after factory reset, first take the backup of data in iCloud or iTunes.

Does reset all settings delete pictures?

Regardless of whether you use a Blackberry, Android, iPhone or Windows phone, any photos or personal data will be irretrievably lost during a factory reset. You can’t get it back unless you have it backed up first.

Is it a good idea to reset my iPhone?

It is a good idea to perform a factory restore on the device before transferring ownership to another party. Restoring your phone to factory settings is the best way to ensure than any data, such as applications, contact information and notes, is completely erased from your device.

How do I clear my iPhone for trade in?

How to Factory Reset Your iPhone

  1. Unlock your ‌iPhone‌ or iPad and launch the Settings app.
  2. Tap General.
  3. Scroll to the bottom and tap Reset.
  4. Tap Erase All Content and Settings.
  5. Tap in your passcode if requested.
  6. Enter your ‌Apple ID‌ password to erase the ‌iPhone‌ and remove it from your account.
  7. Tap Erase.

How do you wipe an iPhone without the Apple ID password?

Basically, we put your iPhone into DFU/Recovery Mode and then use iTunes to do a factory reset. Note that any data on the device will be deleted from this process, so take a backup beforehand to prevent data loss. Note: This way enable you to erase your iPhone without Apple ID or Password.

You might be interested:  If i reset my iphone what will i lose

How can I erase my iPhone without iCloud password?

Go to “Settings” on your iPhone > “General” > Scroll down and choose “Reset”. Step 2. Choose “Erase All Content and Settings” > Enter your passcode if it is prompted, tap on “Erase iPhone” to confirm.

Should I remove my SIM card before factory reset?

It shouldn’t matter. The SIM card is just your authorization to use a particular phone network. It has nothing to do with how the phone itself works or what info/settings are on it. The phone likely will constantly nag you about not having a SIM in it if you turn it on without one installed.

What happens when you erase iPhone on iCloud?

When you erase your device, all of your information (including credit, debit, or prepaid cards for Apple Pay) is deleted from the device, and you won’t be able to find it using the Find My app or Find iPhone on iCloud.com. After you erase a device, you can’t track it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *