What to do before factory reset iphone

What should I do before I factory reset my iPhone?

How to wipe your phone clean.

  1. Unpair your iPhone. …
  2. Back up your iPhone with iTunes or iCloud. …
  3. Turn Off Find My iPhone. …
  4. Sign out of iCloud and the iTunes & App Store. …
  5. Remove photos from Camera Roll. …
  6. Delete Apps. …
  7. Delete iCloud Accounts, Sign Out of iMessage and Facetime.
  8. Restore Factory Settings.

What does a hard reset do iPhone?

A hard reset will restore the iPhone’s setting to its initial configuration by clearing all the third-party applications, data, user settings, saved passwords, and user accounts. The process would delete all stored data on the iPhone.

How do I prepare my iPhone for trade in?

9 Things You Must Do Before You Sell, or Trade-in Your iPhone

  1. Unpair Apple Watch.
  2. Back up your iPhone.
  3. Sign out of iCloud and the iTunes & App Store.
  4. Turn off Find My iPhone.
  5. Deregister iMessage on your iPhone.
  6. Erase all your iPhone’s Data and Settings.
  7. Remove iPhone From Your Apple ID Account.
  8. Unlock your phone.

Does resetting iPhone delete everything?

Well, the answer is yes, it will delete all data that is stored on your device including apps, contacts, call logs, notes, and much more. Moreover, PhoneRescue for iOS can be your best choice to recover lost data on iPhone after the factory reset.

How do I completely wipe my iPhone?

Remove your personal information from your old device

  1. If you paired an Apple Watch with your iPhone, unpair your Apple Watch.
  2. Back up your device.
  3. Sign out of iCloud and the iTunes & App Store. …
  4. Go back to Settings and tap General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings.
You might be interested:  What happens if i reset my iphone

Will a hard reset delete everything on my phone?

Important: A factory reset erases all your data from your phone. If you’re resetting to fix an issue, we recommend first trying other solutions. … To restore your data after resetting, you’ll need to enter security information. Entering the information shows that you or someone you trust did the reset.

Is Hard Reset bad for iPhone?

The hard restart can cause your software to start doing things, like running programs behind the scene. Completely incorrect. A reset, as Apple calls it (hard restart as you call it), will not harm your iPhone at all.

Is it good to reset your iPhone?

It may be behaving erratically (very rarely) or, you may simply want to sell it. Resetting your iPhone basically erases all of your personal information from the phone. The factory settings will, however, be retained. It’s a straightforward and no iPhone reset code is required.

What does a hard reset do?

A hard reset, also known as a factory reset or master reset, is the restoration of a device to the state it was in when it left the factory. All settings, applications and data added by the user are removed.

Should I wipe my phone before trading it in?

Properly wipe the device

Before you trade in your old phone, it’s important to properly wipe the data clean. A factory reset will work, so long as you encrypt the phone first. For Android users, if you existing phone runs Android 6.0 (Marshmallow) or newer, your data will already be encrypted by default.

You might be interested:  What is dock in iphone

How do I clear my iPhone for trade in?

How to Factory Reset Your iPhone

  1. Unlock your ‌iPhone‌ or iPad and launch the Settings app.
  2. Tap General.
  3. Scroll to the bottom and tap Reset.
  4. Tap Erase All Content and Settings.
  5. Tap in your passcode if requested.
  6. Enter your ‌Apple ID‌ password to erase the ‌iPhone‌ and remove it from your account.
  7. Tap Erase.

How do I wipe my phone before trading it in?

  1. Go to Settings.
  2. Select System > Advanced > Reset options.
  3. You will be presented with three choices. …
  4. You’ll get a warning screen reminding you that your data will be erased, along with all the accounts you’re currently signed into. …
  5. If you have a PIN or some other security setup, you’ll be asked to enter it.

Does a hard reset on iPhone 7 erase everything?

The hard reset is a lot more dramatic. It totally erases all the information on your iPhone 7 and restores it to factory settings, which is why the hard reset is also known as a factory reset.

What do you lose when you reset your iPhone?

Reset after iCloud or iTunes backup

When you Erase All Content and Settings, it completely resets your device. All information including apps, photos, videos, contacts, messages, calendar, or music etc. are lost. In order to restore your iPhone after factory reset, first take the backup of data in iCloud or iTunes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *