What to do before selling or giving away your iphone

What to do before you sell or give away your iPhone?

Remove your personal information from your old device

  1. If you paired an Apple Watch with your iPhone, unpair your Apple Watch.
  2. Back up your device.
  3. Sign out of iCloud and the iTunes & App Store. …
  4. Go back to Settings and tap General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings.

Should you unlock your iPhone before selling?

Be a good sport and unlock your iPhone before selling it. Most smartphones become locked to a specific carrier once a SIM card has been installed. Once the SIM is removed, only SIMs from that specific carrier will work in that iPhone. If you’re selling an iPhone, you can increase the value if it’s unlocked.3 мая 2017 г.

Is resetting iPhone enough before selling?

Wipe your iPhone before selling it, because if you don’t you might get your data stolen. Make sure you remove all your personal information before you sell or trade your #iPhone in because if you don’t, the consequences can be creepy and dangerous as one Ontario teenager discovered.

How can I be sure my iPhone is erased?

Sign into iCloud with your Apple ID and click “Find My iPhone.” Open “All Devices” and select your lost iPhone. Click “Erase Device” and enter your Apple ID password. If you had iOS 7 on your iPhone, iCloud will prompt you for a phone number and message to display on the screen after it’s erased.

How do I prepare my iPhone for trade in?

What to expect: Our Apple iPhone Trade-in Guide explains the steps you need to follow before trading in your iPhone:

  1. Determine if your device is eligible.
  2. Unpair your Apple Watch.
  3. Back up your iPhone.
  4. Sign out of iCloud, iTunes and App Store.
  5. Erase all your content and settings.
  6. Trade your iPhone into a certified Apple Store.
You might be interested:  What is keynote on iphone 6

How do I clear my iPhone for trade in?

How to Factory Reset Your iPhone

  1. Unlock your ‌iPhone‌ or iPad and launch the Settings app.
  2. Tap General.
  3. Scroll to the bottom and tap Reset.
  4. Tap Erase All Content and Settings.
  5. Tap in your passcode if requested.
  6. Enter your ‌Apple ID‌ password to erase the ‌iPhone‌ and remove it from your account.
  7. Tap Erase.

Can I unlock a second hand iPhone?

In normal cases, a secondhand iPhone is locked by a lock screen passcode, 4-digit or 6-digit, which you can ask from the previous owner to help you unlock. When you get the passcode, you can unlock the iPhone and reset a new screen passcode.

Can you sell an iPhone if it’s locked?

Yes, you can sell your locked iPhone – provided you can find a buyer. Most buyback vendors and carriers require activation lock to be disabled before they release payment. … You might also be able to find a buyer on the private market, but you likely won’t get top dollar for your iPhone.

Do you have to unlock a phone to sell it?

Strictly speaking, this part is optional; though it certainly adds value to your phone. Unlocking your phone means SIM cards other than those of the original carrier can be used. This doesn’t necessarily mean the phone’s antenna will play nice with the new network, but unlocking at least gives it a chance to try.

Is resetting your iPhone safe?

It may be behaving erratically (very rarely) or, you may simply want to sell it. Resetting your iPhone basically erases all of your personal information from the phone. The factory settings will, however, be retained. It’s a straightforward and no iPhone reset code is required.

You might be interested:  What does the iphone 8 look like

Will erasing my old iPhone affect my new one?

Erasing the old device will not affect the new one. That is necessary for you to be able to wipe the device.

How do I clear my old phone before I sell it?

Step 2: Remove your Google account from the device. Go to Settings > Users and Accounts, tap your account and then remove. Step 3: If you have a Samsung device, remove your Samsung account from the phone or tablet as well. Step 4: Now you can wipe the device with a factory reset.

Does erasing your iPhone erase iCloud?

3 Answers. No, factory resetting your iPhone will not alter your iCloud. Upon setting up your iPhone again you will be given the option to reconnect to your iCloud account if you desire. iCloud also stores iPhone backups that you can restore your phone from.

What happens to an erased iPhone?

Once wiped, the ‌iPhone‌’s location will no longer be updated and you will have 24 hours to note the last known location before it simply can’t be found again. Even with an Internet connection, an erased ‌iPhone‌ with Activation Lock on will not send its location to ‌iCloud‌.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *